Jean-Bernard LAFONTA

Jean-Bernard Lafonta

Jean-Bernard Lafonta is a leader in the world of finance in France. He worked at the Lazard Bank, BNP Paribas and Wendel Investissement, where he was the Chairman of the Executive Board. He is currently the Co-Founder and Partner of HLD Group.




Jean-Bernard Lafonta, along with Jean-Philippe Hecketsweiler and Philippe Donnet, created HLD in May 2010.

The main shareholders of HDL have been with the group from its inception: Norbert Dentressangle Investment, Frères Decaux Investment and Mr. Claude Bebear, Founder of the Axa Group. In 2015, renowned Luxembourgish entrepreneurs, as well as the Agostini family in Italy, joined in.

HLD has acquired and developed well known and successful companies, including Interflora, Filorga Laboratories, SVR, Tranoï, Sarenza, Coyote, Cellfish, Gekko, Tessi, Funbridge, Le Couvent des Minimes, M-Cube and Kiloutou.

In 2015, the acquisition of IP Santé and AMS contributed to the creation of the third biggest player in the field of home-based healthcare in France: Elivie.

HLD is present in Luxembourg, Paris, Milan and Zurich.


An alumni of the Ecole Polytechnique and Engineer from the corps des Mines of Paris, Jean-Bernard Lafonta started his career as an engineer at Jeumont-Schneider. He joined the cabinets of Ministers Michel Delebarre and Ségolène Royal, under François Mitterrand’s government. In 1993, Bruno Roger integrated him within Lazard Bank, where he made his first steps in the investment banking world. In 1996, he joined Michel Pébereau as Director of Strategy for BNP Paribas, taking over as the Head of BNP Capital Markets and President of the Banque Directe in 2000.

In 2001, he became CEO of Wendel Investissement, a family owned Investment Company. Inspired by major international investment firms, he adapted the group’s policy and orientated it towards more promising, majority control long-term investments, thus increasing the results and the share that is multiplied by seven in only six years. His first successes carry him to chair the Corporate Executive Board in 2005.